Legislation that created the Nova Scotia Police came into force. The force was eventually organized into seven districts and comprised almost one hundred officers. But by April 1, 1932, due to increased costs, the Nova Scotia government entered into an agreement with the RCMP to take over provincial policing, with most members of the Nova Scotia Police being absorbed by the federal force. The RCMP assigned 175 officers to Nova Scotia. As of 2017, the RCMP “H” Division had 1,500 employees in thirty-eight detachments throughout Nova Scotia.