The University of Halifax was chartered by the University Act, stating that Dalhousie, King’s, Mount Saint Vincent and Saint Mary’s would be regarded as colleges of the non-sectarian University of Halifax, conferring their degrees in the name University of Halifax. It was meant to be an umbrella institution, like the University of London, England, wherein it would not offer instruction but would examine those who presented themselves and confer degrees if they were successful. But institutional sectarian claims continued to be the preference over collaboration for many years to come.