Paul MacEwan was born in Charlottetown, PEI (d. 2017). He became an MLA for Cape Breton Nova (1970–2003) and later was the Speaker of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly (1993–1996) and an author. He was first elected as an NDP member under the leadership of Jeremy Akerman in 1970. They were the first two NDP MLAs elected in the history of Nova Scotia. MacEwan was expelled from the NDP in 1980 for criticizing a party executive member. He established the Cape Breton Labour Party and was re-elected in 1984. The party ceased operations due to insufficient revenues and MacEwan ran as an independent in 1988 and won. He was admitted to the Liberal party in 1990. He retired in 2003 after having won nine elections in a row — serving thirty-three years in the Nova Scotia Legislature, the longest record of any MLA.