Charles I renewed the 1621 royal charter first established by King James for the lands of New Scotland to Sir William Alexander, Earl of Stirling (1577–1640). The lands were known as Nova Scotia in Latin, Nouvelle Écosse in French and Alba Nuadh in Scottish Gaelic. The Royal Charter did not recognize the region we now know as Mi’kma’ki. (Map: Sir William Alexander’s New Scot Lande map, 1624. Centre for Newfoundland Studies, Memorial University).